Skip to content

“Aung San Suu Kyi: an icon crashes” (12 Feb. 2017)

12/02/2017

When I started this website, I was so pleased to have as one of my icons, Aung San Suu Kyi, Myanmar fighter for democracy and freedom, who for decades advocated that people should “bear witness” to injustice, and that “hope” must be accompanied by “endeavor”.

It has been terribly disappointing to find in the last few months that Aung San Suu Kyi not only failed to speak out against the Mynamar military’s brutal crackdown of the minority Muslim Rohingya community in Myanmar (which a number of Nobel Prize winners, in an Open Letter, jointly labeled as genocide) but accused the international community of fanning the flames between the Buddhists and Muslims.

It is with great sadness that I remove Aung San Suu Kyi out of my list of dedications on my Author and Website home page, a reminder of the dangers of using living persons as icons.

 

 

Comments are closed.

